New Year’s Resolution…

Holy carp, batman (no, that’s not a typo)!  Has it really been FOUR MONTHS since I posted last?

First, let me offer my sincerest apologies for that.  I can’t believe I let things slide that long.  I know that life got in the way, but a big part of my problem was a sort of crisis of conscience over Blood for Blood, and, indeed, the bulk of what I’d written so far.  You can see that in the previous posts, The Distance to Here, Stumble Inn, and No Innocent Use of Violence.

That crisis led me to “trunk” Blood for Blood (if you don’t know, to ‘trunk’ is to put a finished work away and neither publish it nor write sequels to it) indefinitely.

I’m happy to announce that I have un-trunked Blood for Blood, and have begun writing its sequel, Blood Guilt.  Given time and distance, I found that the problems and negative messages Blood for Blood had were only problematic if Blood for Blood was the last word.  As the clear beginning of a trilogy, its seeming nihilism and glorification of violence could be tempered, subverted, even deconstructed by the following books.

The irony is that Blood Guilt is, arguably, even darker than Blood for Blood.  But it serves as the pivotal second book, the turning point.  The third book, as yet untitled, will undoubtedly be the hardest to write.  To write a story of real change, without making it seem saccharine, anvilicious, or otherwise awful, will be challenging, to say the least.

I just hope I’m up to the task.

Well, with that bit of explanation out of the way, let me get to my two writing-related New Year’s Resolutions.

1) Because Consistency is King, I resolve to write at least 250 words every day.  I hope I’ll average a lot more, but I resolve to write at least 250, come hell or high water (as my Dad says).

2) Likewise, I resolve to write at least one blog entry per week here.  I apologize for my long absence to anybody who’s still reading this blog.   I resolve to not let it happen again.

Thanks, and happy 2012!

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

