Tempest in a Teacup

So, some people may ask why I’m so intent on going “indie” instead of sending out my novel for one of the big dogs in New York to publish.  It’s a good question.

Part of it is my own personality.  I’m not lazy, but I have very little patience for sitting on my hands waiting for someone else’s approval.  I’d rather be able to launch it when I want to, with whatever cover I put together or hire out, which a “cover blurb” I write.  When I eventually do Print on Demand, I’ll design those, too.

Part of it is that I just don’t need the advance.  I’ve got a good day job, one I’m not really interested in dropping anytime soon.  I’m financially stable.  I’ll be glad for the money I make, and I intend to continue to write and blog and build what Dean Wesley Smith calls “The Magic Bakery.”

The thing is, I’ve been writing pretty seriously since I was in tenth grade, and I feel like I’ve gotten good enough that someone other than my friends will want to read it.  It’s time to publish.  Not to start the multi-year waiting game of sending things off.  Not risk getting stuck in a tar-pit contract that binds me to an agent, or worse, includes a “non-competition” clause that prevents me from going to another publisher with my next books.

I mean, seriously, with agents taking this attitude, there’s no way in hell I’m going to step into that.  J.A. Konrath said it best here: the big six aren’t the only game in town.  As Zoe Winters wrote, unless you have massive success already (like, for example, Amanda Hocking), you’re not likely to see a favorable contract as a first-time writer, and by the time you have that pull, you don’t really need New York.  Sorry.  I don’t need the advance money and I really don’t need the danger.

I’d rather have my freedom than their money.

Actually, I’d rather have my freedom and my money.  Wish me luck.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

