Achievement … unlocked!!!

Okay, some of you may have noticed the little word meter on the upper-right side of the screen:  if not, take a look at it now:

That’s “write” – I’ve filled it all the way up!  I set a goal of 250 words per day when I made my New Year’s resolution, and that came to 91,500 words (366 days x 250 = 91,500 … gotta love leap year).  250 words may not seem like a lot, and it’s not, but it’s a very achievable goal that keeps me moving forward, in large part because it’s so easy to reach.  Success encourages persistence, after all (you can read a more detailed explanation of my reasons here).

I am VERY excited about this, clearly.  It represents a very big milestone, a massive success, a real sense of sticking to my goals.

So the question is, ‘What now?’  Do I just keep adding my word count to the word meter, happily zooming above 100%?  Or do I set a new goal, and create a new word meter?

I may end up doing the last one (if so, I’ll set it at 250 words x the number of days remaining in the year), but I worry that it will suck some of the fun of my success away, by moving the goal lines just when I reach them.  The point of this is psychological reinforcement (morale) as much as actual word count, so I have to be careful to play this right.

So for now, I’m just going to enjoy my greater than 100% word count, with a smile on my face.

 

Later!

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

